The words I couldn’t say.

In a book -in a box-  in the closet
In a line- in a song I once heard
In a moment on a front porch late one june,
In a breath inside a whisper beneath the moon.

There it was at the tip of my fingers
There it was on the tip of my tongue.
There you were and I had never been that far
There it was the whole world wrapped inside my arms
And I let it all slip away.

What do I do now that you’re gone?
No back up plan, no second chance
And no one else to blame.
All I can hear in the silence that remains
Are the words I couldn’t say.

– Rascal Flatts “The Words I Couldn’t Say”

I remember having this song on repeat on my iPod Nano when I was about 15 maybe. I never really read the lyrics or concentrated on the words enough to understand, until I was 18, and heard it again. I’ve never loved lyrics more than these. It’s unusual and detailed and just [long sigh].

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/

In response to “You’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind?”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/

One thought on “The words I couldn’t say.”

Leave a Reply

