Copying Beethoven (2006)

An exposition of small scale bridges is taking place.
Cast Members involved:

Ed Harris as Ludwig Van Beethoven
Diane Kruger as Anna Holtz
Matthew Goode as Martin Bauer

Beethoven: “Well this is your famous bridge? Are you going to win?”
Martin: “I don’t know”
Beethoven: “How could you not know that? Anna tells me you’re an artist, aren’t you an artist?”
Martin: “Well that depends on what you mean by an artist.”
Beethoven: “An artist is someone who has learnt to trust in himself.”

Anna: “Maestro, what do you think?” [about the bridge]
Beethoven: “It has no soul.”
Martin: “I beg your pardon?”
Beethoven: “It lacks life, grace, passion. It is a dead worthless thing.”
Martin: “You have no right!”
Anna: “Martin!”
Martin: “No! I don’t care who he is. I don’t care what the world thinks you are, what gives you the right?”
Beethoven: “I told you what gives me the right! You build bridges to connect points of land, I build them to connect men’s souls! God gives me the right! God whispers into some men’s ears while he shouts into mine! That’s why I am deaf! When you go blind sir, then you too will have the right. Not the right to be judged but to judge.”

That was a scene I really liked, taken out of the movie “Copying Beethoven”, a film by Agnieszka Holland.
The entire movie was breathtaking, the music and actors were phenomenal. It’s a deep look-in not only into Beethoven’s final days, but his entire philosophy on music.
Classical has never really been my favorite genre, but this movie really surprised my expectations.

I recommend you watch it before you die!

 

Leave a Reply

